Bruce Devlin tabbed as keynote speaker for 2014 banquet


FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 23, 2014) — The Ben Hogan Award Committee has announced that former PGA TOUR player and noted golf course architect and designer Bruce Devlin will serve as the keynote speaker at The Ben Hogan Award banquet at Colonial Country Club on Sunday, May 18.

“We are very pleased to have Bruce as our keynote speaker this year,” committee co-chairman Dr. Bill Barnes said. “He is a true gentleman who has so much knowledge about the game of golf and Mr. Hogan himself. It will be a special treat to be able to listen to him speak.”

Devlin, an eight-time winner on the PGA TOUR, was the champion at the 1966 Colonial National Invitation. In addition, he placed among the top 10 at Major Championships 16 times, landing five top-5 finishes. From 1964-65, the native of Armidale, Australia, finished among the top 10 at five of the eight majors.

In addition, Devlin won 16 tournaments on the PGA TOUR of Australasia and once on the Champions Tour. He also represented his native country at five World Cup competitions, winning in 1970. As an amateur, he represented Australia twice at the Eisenhower Trophy, winning both the team and individual competitions in 1958.

After his playing days, Devlin focused on a career as a golf course architect and designer, building more than 150 golf courses throughout the world, including many in Texas. Devlin also has served as a television commentator for NBC and ESPN during golf telecasts and authored “Play Like the Devil” in 1967.

Devlin struck up a friendship with Hogan after the two met at Augusta National in 1962. Close friends on the tour from that time until Hogan’s retirement, he frequently served as Hogan’s practice-round partner.

He is member of the Honorary/Advisory Board for the Ben Hogan Foundation and also serves on the board of the Ben Hogan Classic at Fort Hood.

“Obviously I consider it a tremendous honor to be part of The Ben Hogan Award presentation this year,” Devlin said. “I have a warm heart for Colonial and I look forward to attending. It is an award about excellence, so it is fitting that it is named after Ben Hogan.”

The list of previous keynote speakers includes Lance Barrow, Charles Coody, Ben Crenshaw, Tom Lehman, Jim Nantz, Corey Pavin, Dave Stockton, Pat Summerall, Ken Venturi and Lanny Wadkins.

The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee represents leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login